LDN

In short, I don’t really know what this blog will become. Currently, it will consist of mainly photography, perhaps some poetry. I don’t fancy the lifestyle blogger vibe, and have already established myself as a bit of a hypocrite, you don’t have to scroll too far through my twitter to find something or other slating blogs as a medium. My stance on inaccessibility, I maintain, but maybe this is the easiest way to share my work, for now.

Again, I don’t know where this is going. What you can expect. With some cautious narcissism, I think that this will become a platform for artistic distribution. I stumbled into photography by accident. As if it wasn’t apparent enough in the photographs I post. Somewhere between a second hand camcorder and rolls of B&W Ilford 35mm film, it seems to have become what I do. However inexpertly. Tentatively. But I feel that I need somewhere to share the things I do in one place. Train of thought kinda thing. I suppose that this, is that place. All set to crash and burn.

During half term, Anna and I hit up London town. Armed with my shabby little SLR, a lens I’d never used, and a battery running on empty, we took on the underground. 50mm. The staple lens for any photographer wannabe. So used to my trusty 55mm, the fixed focal length was weird, but kinda nice to strip it back, without worrying whether you’ve got the zoom just right. Additionally, I have always been positively awful at getting manual focus to work nicely, and have decided that I am probably blind, and the viewfinder will never be truly in focus. What a state. Refusing to use any automatic settings. Feigning nonchalance. But really, the 50mm isn’t the go to lens for nothing. Nothing beats that depth of field, and for such a cheap lens, what more can you ask?

And, so commences a collection of photos.

img_2117Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetimg_2118Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetimg_2121

Cool if you’ve hung on this long. This was oh so dangerously close to being a post about Marxism and the artistic establishment. Lead you into a false sense of security for now at least, hey. Glad to see that the pretentious crap hasn’t fully kicked off yet.

Stay Groovy x

[All my pics were taken on my battered Canon 400D, with a 50mm f/1.8 STM lens, and edited with VSCO.]

Leave a Reply

